[dpdk-announce] DPDK 18.11 released

Thomas Monjalon thomas at monjalon.net
Tue Nov 27 00:55:17 CET 2018

As good news never come alone,
the Camp Fire is contained, and a new major DPDK release is available:

The branch 18.11 should be supported for at least two years,
making it recommended for system integration and deployment.
The maintainer of this LTS is Kevin Traynor.

The version 18.11.0 is one of the biggest release ever,
with a record breaking number of authors:
	1418 patches from 187 authors
	1314 files changed, 139697 insertions(+), 40992 deletions(-)

Below are some new features, grouped by category.
	- ability to use externally allocated memory
	- new hotplug features, including multi-process and PCI failure handler
	- extendable table and lock-free r/w concurrency in hash library
	- traffic pattern aware power management
	- JSON interfaces for power policy example and new telemetry library
	- MAC swap, MPLS encapsulation and metadata matching in rte_flow API
	- new networking drivers for Aquantia Atlantic, Marvell Armada and NXP ENETC
	- postcopy live-migration in vhost-user
	- vDPA sample application
	- classification, metering and crypto in SoftNIC (using Packet Framework)
	- new crypto drivers for Cavium OCTEON TX and NXP CAAM JR
	- PDCP in security library
Event mode:
	- eventdev Tx adapter
	- new event driver by Ericsson: DSW (distributed software eventdev PMD)
	- noisy VNF forward mode in testpmd
	- FIPS validation application

More details in the release notes:

There are 73 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers).
Thanks to Akash Saxena, Alan Winkowski, Alex Porosanu, Alexander V Gutkin,
Anand Rawat, Andrzej Ostruszka, Ankur Dwivedi, Archana Muniganti,
Ayuj Verma, Bei Sun, Brian Archbold, Brian Russell, Cody Doucette,
David Wilder, Dekel Peled, Dharmik Thakkar, Dmitri Epshtein,
Dong Wang, Dr. David Alan Gilbert, Emma Finn, Eric Zhang, Evgeny Im,
Faicker Mo, Gagandeep Singh, Geoffrey Lv, Hari Kumar Vemula, Hongjun Ni,
Huaibin Wang, Ian Dolzhansky, Igor Russkikh, Jia He, Joyce Kong,
Junxiao Shi, Leah Tekoa, Liron Himi, Malvika Gupta, Martin Harvey,
Matias Elo, Murthy NSSR, Nikolay Nikolaev, Nithin Dabilpuram, Paul Fox,
Paul Luse, Paul M Stillwell Jr, Pavel Belous, Pradeep Satyanarayana,
Ragothaman Jayaraman, Ryan E Hall, Sabyasachi Sengupta, Shlomi Gridish,
Shuai Zhu, Stewart Allen, Subrahmanyam Nilla, Szymon Sliwa,
Takeshi Yoshimura, Tejasree Kondoj, Tom Millington, Tomasz Cel,
Tone Zhang, Viacheslav Ovsiienko, Vikas Aggarwal, Vivek Sharma,
Xiaolong Ye, Xiaoyu Min, Yanjie Xu, Yelena Krivosheev, Yogev Chaimovich,
Yongping Zhang, Youri Querry, Yuval Caduri, Zhirun Yan, Zorik Machulsky
and Zyta Szpak.

Below is the number of patches per company (with authors count):
    522   Intel (61)
    233   Mellanox (13)
    125   Cavium (18)
     95   NXP (8)
     50   Solarflare (10)
     35   AT&T (2)
     32   OKTET Labs (4)
     31   Semihalf (6)
     31   Microsoft (2)
     30   RedHat (5)
     29   6WIND (7)
     25   ARM (7)
     22   Aquantia (2)
     21   Netronome (1)
     19   Cisco (4)
     17   Chelsio (2)
     13   Samsung (1)
     13   Marvell (5)
     13   Broadcom (5)
     11   Ericsson (1)

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top reviewers are:
    111   Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit at intel.com>
     60   Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin at redhat.com>
     56   Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson at intel.com>
     55   Shahaf Shuler <shahafs at mellanox.com>
     49   Yongseok Koh <yskoh at mellanox.com>
     48   Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob at caviumnetworks.com>
     48   Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko at solarflare.com>
     45   Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal at nxp.com>
     44   Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov at intel.com>
     40   Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang at intel.com>
     30   Bernard Iremonger <bernard.iremonger at intel.com>

The new features for 19.02 may be submitted until this Thursday,
in order to be reviewed and integrated during December.
DPDK 19.02 should be released at the very beginning of February.

Thanks everyone

PS: Do not forget to register for the US Summit in San Jose, December 3-4

More information about the announce mailing list