[dpdk-dev] [dpdk-announce] DPDK 19.08 released

Thomas Monjalon thomas at monjalon.net
Sun Aug 11 16:44:40 CEST 2019


A new major release is available:
	https://fast.dpdk.org/rel/dpdk-19.08.tar.xz

The statistics - probably the biggest release of the year:
	1327 commits from 171 authors
	1631 files changed, 138797 insertions(+), 97285 deletions(-)

Below are some new features, grouped by category.
General:
	- IOVA mode defaults to VA if IOMMU is available
	- MCS lock
	- better pseudo-random number generator
	- Intel QuickData Technology (ioat) PMD
	- non-transparent bridge (ntb) PMD
Networking:
	- actions for TCP and GRE in flow API
	- Broadcom Thor support in bnxt PMD
	- Huawei (hinic) PMD
	- Marvell OCTEON TX2 PMD
	- shared memory (memif) PMD
	- zero copy and multi-queues in AF_XDP PMD
Baseband:
	- Intel FPGA LTE FEC PMD

More details in the release notes:
	http://doc.dpdk.org/guides/rel_notes/release_19_08.html


There are 70 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers).
Welcome to Abraham Tovar, Adam Dybkowski, Adham Masarwah,
Aideen McLoughlin, Amit Gupta, Amrutha Sampath, Anirudh Venkataramanan,
Artur Trybula, Ashijeet Acharya, Ashish Shah, Brett Creeley,
Christopher Reder, Dave Ertman, Dilshod Urazov, Eli Britstein,
Flavia Musatescu, Georgiy Levashov, Gosia Bakota, Grishma Kotecha,
Grzegorz Nitka, Hariprasad Govindharajan, Henry Tieman, Jacek Naczyk,
Jacob Keller, Jaroslaw Ilgiewicz, Jeb Cramer, Jesse Brandeburg,
Jingzhao Ni, Johan Källström, John OLoughlin, Július Milan, Kalesh AP,
Kanaka Durga Kotamarthy, Karol Kolacinski, Kevin Lampis, Kevin Scott,
Lance Richardson, Lavanya Govindarajan, Lev Faerman, Lukasz Bartosik,
Lukasz Gosiewski, Maciej Bielski, Marcin Zapolski, Mariusz Drost,
Marta Plantykow, Mesut Ali Ergin, Michel Machado, Mohsin Mazhar Shaikh,
Naresh Kumar PBS, Nicolas Chautru, Radu Bulie, Santoshkumar Karanappa
Rastapur, Satha Rao, Sean Morrissey, Shivanshu Shukla, Sriharsha
Basavapatna, Srinivas Narayan, Suanming Mou, Suyang Ju, Tao Zhu,
Tarun Singh, Thinh Tran, Ting Xu, Tummala Sivaprasad, Vamsi Attunuru,
Wenjie Li, William Tu, Xiao Zhang, Yuri Chipchev and Ziyang Xuan.

Below is the number of patches per company (with authors count):
    435     Intel (60)
    239     Marvell (19)
    164     Mellanox (15)
    109     Red Hat (5)
     84     Broadcom (10)
     77     Microsoft (2)
     51     Solarflare (7)
     28     ARM (5)
     25     NXP (6)
     24     6WIND (4)
     20     Huawei (4)
     12     OKTET Labs (3)
     11     Cisco (4)
      8     IBM (4)
      5     Semihalf (3)
      4     Netcope (2)
      4     Ericsson (1)

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top reviewers are:
    134     Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit at intel.com>
    101     Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang at intel.com>
     67     Jerin Jacob <jerinj at marvell.com>
     63     Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo at mellanox.com>
     44     David Marchand <david.marchand at redhat.com>
     43     Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin at redhat.com>
     38     Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson at intel.com>
     37     Matan Azrad <matan at mellanox.com>
     34     Stephen Hemminger <stephen at networkplumber.org>
     31     Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev at intel.com>
     31     Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov at intel.com>
     31     Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde at broadcom.com>
     29     Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal at nxp.com>
     27     Luca Boccassi <bluca at debian.org>
     25     Shahaf Shuler <shahafs at mellanox.com>
     23     Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye at intel.com>
     23     Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe at intel.com>
     22     Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko at solarflare.com>
     20     Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur at broadcom.com>
     17     Gavin Hu <gavin.hu at arm.com>
     16     Shally Verma <shallyv at marvell.com>
     16     Olivier Matz <olivier.matz at 6wind.com>
     16     Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal at nxp.com>
     15     Yongseok Koh <yskoh at mellanox.com>


The new features for 19.11 may be submitted during the next four weeks,
in order to be reviewed and integrated during September.
DPDK 19.11 should be released at the beginning of November.
	http://core.dpdk.org/roadmap#dates

In memory of Rami Rosen, I would like to encourage everybody
to clean up and carefully review the DPDK documentation.

Thanks everyone


PS: Let's meet at the DPDK Userspace in Bordeaux, France:
https://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/dpdk-userspace-2019-bordeaux




More information about the dev mailing list